André Aisenstadt Annual Memorial Clinical Day
in Honour of Dr. Walter H. Gotlieb


Integrating precision medicine and precision surgery (robotics) in women's cancer care

This year, we are pleased to present an in-person symposium where a panel of expert speakers will present throughout the day on the topic of advancements in women's healthcare.

The Jewish General Hospital (JGH) is excited to present the 60th Annual André Aisenstadt Clinical Day in honour of Dr. Walter H. Gotlieb.

Date: Thursday, October 19, 2023
Time: 8:30 am - 3:30 pm
Location: JGH Block Amphitheatre, Room B-106 *There will be the option to watch a live-stream of the meeting. RSVP to receive the Zoom link.
Address: 3755 Côte-Sainte-Catherine Road, Montreal, Quebec, H3T 1E2





If you have any questions about the event, please contact Angela Addesa at

We look forward to seeing you on October 19th. RSVP today to save your spot!

2023 Event Scientific Chair

Ernesto L. Schiffrin, C.M., MD, PhD, FRSC, FRCPC, FACP
Distinguished James McGill Professor, Department of Medicine, McGill University,
Director, Hypertension and Vascular Research Unit, Lady Davis Institute for Medical Research,
Director, Cardiovascular Prevention Centre and
Physician-in-Chief Emeritus, Sir Mortimer B. Davis-Jewish General Hospital

2023 Event Co-Chairs and Presenters

Susie K.S. Lau, MD, MSc, FRCS
Associate Professor, Obstetrics, Gynecology and Oncology, McGill University
Vice-President, Regroupement des Gynécologues Oncologues du Québec (RGOQ)
Leader, Gynecologic Oncology Clinical Trials, Jewish General Hospital

Shannon Salvador, MD, MSc, FRCSC
President Elect, The Society of Gynecologic Oncology of Canada (GOC)
Associate Professor, Gynecologic Oncology, McGill University
Program Director, Gynecologic Oncology Residency Program
Head of Colposcopy, Jewish General Hospital

Dr. Walter H. Gotlieb - Da Vinci Robot
Professor, Obstetrics & Gynecology and of Oncology, McGill University
Director, Division of Gynecologic Oncology, Jewish General Hospital

Walter H. Gotlieb is Professor of OB/GYN and of Oncology at McGill University and Director of Gynecologic Oncology at the Jewish General Hospital. He obtained his medical degree summa cum laude at Université Libre de Bruxelles in his native Belgium, where he went on to obtain board certification in OB/GYN. After spending two years at the National Institutes of Health, where he obtained the National Cancer Institute Award for Outstanding Performance, he completed a three-year fellowship in Gynoncology at UCLA. He was then recruited by Tel Aviv University and Tel HaShomer Hospital, where he co-founded and built up the Department of Gynecology Oncology from 1994 to 2003. In 2003, he was recruited by McGill University. Throughout his professional career, he has been licensed to practise in Belgium, Israel, California and Quebec.

With the support of the hospital, Dr. Gotlieb and his team have pioneered and driven robotic surgery in gynecologic cancer since 2007, performing over 2,500 procedures. He has lectured around the world, and has proctored robotic surgery 29 times in Belgium, Canada, China, India and Israel. In addition to his clinical responsibilities, he is involved in scientific research in ovarian and endometrial cancer as a project director at the Lady Davis Research Institute. Dr. Gotlieb served as President of the Society of Gynecologic Oncology of Canada and as Secretary Treasurer of the International Gynecologic Cancer Society. He completed 10 years as Senior Editor of the International Journal of Gynecologic Cancer and is a member of the Editorial Boards of the Gynecologic Oncology, Current Oncology, and Gynecology and Pelvic Medicine journals. He completed an executive course in health care management and delivery at the Harvard Business School. In addition, he and his team are developing augmented reality in surgery.

A recipient of several national and international awards in the area of cancer research, Dr. Gotlieb is well published with over 260 scientific manuscripts, review articles, and chapters in leading textbooks.



Gerald Batist, MD, FRCP(C), FACP, FCAHS, C.M., C.Q.

Director, Segal Cancer Centre (Chief, Dept. of Oncology), Jewish General Hospital
Director, McGill Centre for Translational Research in Cancer
Professor, Department of Oncology, McGill University

A pioneer in the field of personalized medicine, Gerald Batist, MD is a clinician-scientist who has played an essential role in the creation of large-scale collaborative research networks and established valuable tools for cancer researchers in Quebec and elsewhere in Canada. Focused on drug resistance and development of novel therapeutics tailored to specific cancers in patients, his research has increased response to treatment as well as survival rates.

Melica Brodeur, MD

Dr. Melica Brodeur is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology and the Department of Oncology at McGill University. She is an attending Gynecologic Oncologist and a Principal Investigator at the Jewish General Hospital and Lady Davis Institute for Medical Research where she practices as a clinician-scientist. Her research focuses on understanding treatment response in gynecologic cancers and discovering new therapeutic targets and treatment strategies to overcome therapy failure. She has completed her clinical and research training at McGill University, University of British Columbia, Université de Montréal and the Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center. Her mission is to improve the lives of patients and families affected by gynecologic cancers.

Béatrice Cormier, MD

Dr. Cormier is a Gynecological Oncologist and Clinical Assistant Professor at the CHUM in Montreal. She completed her medical degree at the University of Montreal and her Obstetrics and Gynecology residency at McGill University and Université de Montréal. She completed her fellowship in Gynecologic Oncology at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center in New York, USA.

Dr. Cormier's interests include: Cervical cancer, Ovarian cancer, Minimally invasive surgery, Sentinel lymph node technique, and HIPEC.

Marie Plante, MD

Dr Plante is Full Professor in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology at Laval University and Gynecologic Oncologist at L’Hôtel-Dieu de Québec, CHU de Québec.

She was Vice-President of the International Gynecologic Cancer Society (IGCS) and is currently past Chair of the Cervical Cancer Research Network (CCRN). Dr Plante has major interest in minimally invasive surgery (MIS), sentinel node mapping and fertility-preserving surgery in cervical cancer.

She is leading two important international clinical trials in cervical cancer: SHAPE/CX-5 and Contessa.